Un voyage aux saveurs | La terre de l’Olympie | Western Greece

Un voyage aux saveurs

Faire la connaissance avec la tradition gastronomique d’ Olympie

La terre de l’Olympie
HIGH0o
LOW0o

Les produits locaux uniques, les recettes traditionnelles, la Route des vins et l’agrotourisme réservent des vrais moments de plaisir aux visiteurs.

Les dons précieux de la terre fertile de la Découverte, ses produits agricoles, vous offrent une expérience de dégustation unique. Vous aurez l’occasion de savourer ces produits, destinés aux meilleures épiceries fines du monde, au lieu même de leur production. Et pas seulement ça! Vous aurez l’occasion de jouer le rôle des producteurs en vous impliquant dans les processus de fabrication. Tout cela, combiné à l’hospitalité chaleureuse de la population locale, fera de votre voyage une expérience de vie unique.

Permettez à la gastronomie de vous guider

La terre de l’Olympie est célèbre pour ses produits qui sont en grande demande dans tout le pays mais aussi dans le monde entie!

Y a-t-il une meilleure façon de taquiner le soleil de midi qu’avec une tranche de pastèque juteuse de Gastouni? Savourez, sans remords, les confitures «à la cuillère». Essayez le «trahana» et les «hilopités», deux genres de pâtes, produits avec passion et des ingrédients purs. Votre palais se réjouira du miel local et tous vos sens seront chatouillés par les herbes telles que l’origan, la menthe et la sauge.

Les poissons sont aussi en abondance. Vous pouvez pêcher vous-même au lagon de Kotychi ou déguster à la taverne des loups de mer, des dorades, des mulets et des anguilles. Ne manquez pas les truites du lac artificiel de Pinios. Votre promenade gastronomique vous emmènera certainement aux plats traditionnels : hondromenoudelo (gros vermicelle), tambakli aux haricots et courgettes, kayana au tsigarida (porc salé à l’œuf et tomate) et les tartes à la citrouille. Pour le dessert, essayez le stroto de Lampia.

 

RELATED VIDEOS

Les routes des vins 

Les routes des vins révèlent au visiteur des expériences uniques à la visite des vignobles. C’est l’occasion de découvrir les vins d’Indication Géographique Protégée tels que «Ilia», «Letrini» et «Pissatis».

Retroussez vos manches!

Souhaitez-vous abandonner, pendant un certain temps, le rôle du visiteur passif et devenir protagoniste? Participez à la récolte des olives et visitez les pressoirs à olives de l’Élide. Participez à la vendange et amusez-vous dans le pressoir vinicole (la bassine). Pétrissez la pâte des hylopites (nouilles) ou salez les olives et la viande de porc.

Événements culinaires

La joie se transforme en une fête débridée au Festival des Saveurs et de la Culture ou au Festival Gastronomique de la ville de Pyrgos. Vous pouvez également consulter le calendrier des évènements en vous adressant aux vignobles locaux.

Les saveurs de la terre de la Découverte vous invitent à les découvrir!

 

 

Are you a local?

Give us your best tips and help people discover Τhe Vivid Land of Achaia

Have you visited Τhe Vivid Land of Achaia?

Share the experiences that inspired you

#olympia

hashtags

#WESTERN_GREECE

User Photo 1565946429658556681
User Photo 1564766029777866995
User Photo 1565077579945213500
User Photo 1563731364874927608
User Photo 1563747461925848274
User Photo 1558281158702020829
User Photo 1557801923197115714
User Photo 1556688485757225684
User Photo 1556523939168338455
User Photo 1553539470731543720
User Photo 1552811328091753253
Load more

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter

Pour un peu d'inspiration, inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter et ne ratez jamais rien de la collection de la Grèce-Occidentale!

TOP

Login or Register

Log in Register

Added to your Lovelist

A flavoursome trip | Land of Olympia | Western Greece

A flavoursome trip

An acquaintance with the gastronomic legacy of Olympia

Land of Olympia
HIGH0o
LOW0o

Unrivalled local products, traditional recipes, wine routes as well as agrotourism activities have moments of real delight in store for the visitor.

Precious gifts of the fertile land of Olympia offer the visitor a special food tasting experience.  This is produce destined for the best delicatessens in the world and you have the chance to savour it at its source. And not only that! You’ll be able to get hands on with some of the traditional practices which help to bring these special flavours to the dining table. All this, combined with the warm hospitality of the locals, will cultivate memories to ripen with age.

Let gastronomy be your guide

The land of Olympia is famous for its products which are in great demand all over the country, not to mention the world!

Is there any better way of teasing the midday summer sun than with a juicy slice of watermelon from Gastouni? Try “trahana” and “hilopites”, both types of pasta, made with artistry and pure ingredients. If you fancy a little seasoning, oregano, mint and sage run riot across the hillsides and a treacly treat for your taste buds comes in the form of the delicious honey, for which the local bee population should be roundly congratulated!

Fish are also in abundance, there’s bass, bream, mullet and eels. You can try your luck at catching them yourself in the lagoon of Kotyhi or simply sit down at a local tavern and wait for them to come to you. Trout from the artificial lake of the Pinios are especially recommended.  Gastronomy is so inextricably linked with custom and the uncluttered way of living here that your journey will surely bring you a taste of tradition through all the time-honoured dishes, like hondromenoudelo (a type of pasta) tabakali (a dish with beans as a main ingredient), kagiana with tsigaridia (salt pork with eggs and tomatoes), pumpkin pies and, for dessert, stroto, their own version of baklava from Lampia.

 

RELATED VIDEOS

Wine routes

The wine routes reveal special wine experiences in the wineries that are open to visitors.  It’s time to get to know Protected Geographical Indication wines such as “Ilia”, “Letrini” and “Pisatis”.

Roll up your sleeves!

Would you like to abandon the role of «passive» visitor for a while and literally get to grips with Greece’s agrarian past? Get involved in the olive harvest and find yourself in the oil presses of Ilia. Gather grapes and join in the fun the grape mill, where the wines are produced. Kneed hilopites or salt olives and pork. As you harvest, you will sow the seeds of memories as hardy as the crops swathing the countryside around you.

Tasty events

Joy turns into unbridled celebration in the Tastes and Culture Festival or the Gastronomy Festival of Pyrgos.  The local wineries also throw their doors open for major events. So keep an eye out for them.

Try the flavour that fits in the land of Olympia.

 

 

Are you a local?

Give us your best tips and help people discover Τhe Vivid Land of Achaia

Have you visited Τhe Vivid Land of Achaia?

Share the experiences that inspired you

#olympia

hashtags

#WESTERN_GREECE

User Photo 1565946429658556681
User Photo 1564766029777866995
User Photo 1565077579945213500
User Photo 1563731364874927608
User Photo 1563747461925848274
User Photo 1558281158702020829
User Photo 1557801923197115714
User Photo 1556688485757225684
User Photo 1556523939168338455
User Photo 1553539470731543720
User Photo 1552811328091753253
Load more

Sign up for our newsletter

For some inspiration, subscribe to our newsetter and never miss a thing about the Western Greece Collection!

TOP

Login or Register

Log in Register

Added to your Lovelist