Une conduite pleine de plaisirs | La terre de la Découverte | Western Greece

Une conduite pleine de plaisirs

En route pour des experiences inoubliables!

La terre de la Découverte
HIGH0o
LOW0o

En voiture ou à moto, découvrez les secrets de la nature et de l’histoire à la terre de la Découverte.

Conduire votre propre véhicule est sans doute la meilleure manière de profiter à la fois des riches écosystèmes et du passé multiséculaire de la terre de la Découverte. Un road trip vous révélera des aspects de la Grèce que vous n’aviez jamais vus – que ce soit près de la mer, en vous rendant à la lagune de Missolonghi, ou dans les montagnes, si vous choisissez de vous rendre au lac Trichonida. Assurez-vous de faire une halte au pont Rion-Antirion, pour admirer ce célèbre exemple d’architecture moderne.

Vivez des moments uniques dans la lagune de Missolonghi

Un point de départ idéal, capitale de la préfecture: l’héroïque Missolonghi. Visitez le Jardin des Héros et le Musée d’Histoire et d’Art. Votre parcours se poursuit dans la pittoresque Aitoliko, la «petite Venise», avec une occasion de voir par vous-mêmes comment est préparée la fameuse poutargue, souvent considérée comme le caviar grec. En roulant un peu plus loin le long de la côte, vous arriverez à la plage de Mytikas, avec ses eaux azur et sa vue magnifique sur les îles à proximité. Vous aurez le temps de vous détendre dans le cadre tranquille de Vonitsa, et de penser à ce voyage merveilleux en admirant la forteresse enchanteresse…

RELATED VIDEOS

Roulez autour du lac Trichonida

Des bâtiments en pierre, des entrepôts de tabac, des églises historiques et un riche héritage culturel: c’est Agrinio, bouillonnante de vie, la plus grande ville de la préfecture. Le parcours autour du lac Trichonida est unique, de même que la vue sur le lac depuis les hameaux de Dogri et de Varia. En chemin vers Myrtia, vous rencontrerez des sources thermales sulfureuses renommées; et puis, le coucher de soleil enchanteur sur Petrochori et ses petites maisons charmantes donnera une scène parfaite aux amateurs de photographie.

Thermo, qui remonte à la préhistoire, constitue le centre de l’histoire culturelle de la région. Vous cherchez plus de traces du passé? Alors, c’est une visite au musée archéologique qu’il vous faut. Le paysage paradisiaque du lac Stratos se prête à l’exploration et à l’observation des oiseaux marins et de la vie animale, qui se développe dans des conditions marécageuses. Enfin, non loin de là, le site archéologique de Stratos dispose de découvertes archéologiques étonnantes qu’il vaut la peine de voir.

Pour un road trip spécial, rendez-vous à la terre de la Découverte!

Are you a local?

Give us your best tips and help people discover Τhe Vivid Land of Achaia

Have you visited Τhe Vivid Land of Achaia?

Share the experiences that inspired you

#aitoloakarnania

hashtags

#WESTERN_GREECE

User Photo 1565430078580809043
User Photo 1565431816307247338
User Photo 1565389643696155633
User Photo 1564557225958334239
User Photo 1557935036690849006
User Photo 1555969826479289488
User Photo 1555567042023027769
User Photo 1554751309302030146
User Photo 1553095078863264684
User Photo 1552189576964133262
User Photo 1551703420824489293
User Photo 1551706558725955798
User Photo 1550906490456520913
User Photo 1550920765544577941
User Photo 1550909382798205424
User Photo 1546575047823467278
User Photo 1546618753194611700
User Photo 1548635642103437330
User Photo 1548057900190485703
Load more

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter

Pour un peu d'inspiration, inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter et ne ratez jamais rien de la collection de la Grèce-Occidentale!

TOP

Login or Register

Log in Register

Added to your Lovelist

Driven to pleasure | Land of discovery | Western Greece

Driven to pleasure

On route for unforgettable experiences

Land of discovery
HIGH0o
LOW0o

Either by car or motorcycle discover the secrets of nature and history.

Driving your own vehicle is probably the best way take in both the rich ecosystems, and the centuries old past of the land of Discovery. A road trip will reveal aspects of Greece as you have never seen it before – either next to the sea by heading to the Messolonghi Lagoon, or to the mountains if you choose to make your way towards Lake Trichonida. Make sure you stop at the Rio-Antirio Bridge to admire this much-praised feat of modern design.

Live unique moments in the Lagoon of Messolonghi

An ideal starting point, the capital of the prefecture; heroic Messolonghi. Visit the Garden of Heroes and the Municipal Museum of History and Art; The tour continues in picturesque Aitoliko, the “Little Venice”, with a chance to see first-hand how the famous fish roe, often thought of as Greece’s version of caviar, is prepared. A short drive further along the coast will take you to the beach of Mytikas with its azure waters and the beautiful view of the nearby islands. There will be time to relax in the tranquil setting of Vonitsa and with an enchanting castle as the backdrop to your reflections on a marvellous trip…

RELATED VIDEOS

Drive around Lake Trichonida

The largest city in the prefecture, Agrinio, teeming with life; stone-clad buildings, tobacco warehouses, historic temples and a rich cultural heritage. The driving experience around Lake Trichonida is unique as well as the view to the lake from the hamlets Dogri and Varia. On the way to Myrtia, you’ll come across the renowned sulfurous thermal baths while the enchanting sunset over Petrochori and its quaint little dwellings make the perfect composition for the photographer’s lens.

Thermo, dating back to prehistoric years, is the focal point for the area’s cultural history. Looking for more clues to the past? Then a visit to the archaeological museum will set you on the right path. The heavenly landscape of the artificial Lake Stratou lends itself to exploration of marine bird and animal life, which thrives in the marshy conditions. Finally, very near the city of Ancient Stratos, there are some astounding archaeological finds well worth looking into.

For a special road trip, put your foot down for the land of Discovery!

Are you a local?

Give us your best tips and help people discover Τhe Vivid Land of Achaia

Have you visited Τhe Vivid Land of Achaia?

Share the experiences that inspired you

#aitoloakarnania

hashtags

#WESTERN_GREECE

User Photo 1565430078580809043
User Photo 1565431816307247338
User Photo 1565389643696155633
User Photo 1564557225958334239
User Photo 1557935036690849006
User Photo 1555969826479289488
User Photo 1555567042023027769
User Photo 1554751309302030146
User Photo 1553095078863264684
User Photo 1552189576964133262
User Photo 1551703420824489293
User Photo 1551706558725955798
User Photo 1550906490456520913
User Photo 1550920765544577941
User Photo 1550909382798205424
User Photo 1546575047823467278
User Photo 1546618753194611700
User Photo 1548057900190485703
User Photo 1548635642103437330
Load more

Sign up for our newsletter

For some inspiration, subscribe to our newsetter and never miss a thing about the Western Greece Collection!

TOP

Login or Register

Log in Register

Added to your Lovelist