Une histoire vivante

Un voyage a la decouverte du passe

La terre de la Découverte
HIGH0o
LOW0o

De l’Antiquité à la Grèce contemporaine, une région dont l’exploration ne finit jamais.

Des sites archéologiques dans des lieux incomparables, des remparts historiques et des châteaux en bord de mer, des monastères pittoresques et des musées d’une haute valeur culturelle : La terre de la Découverte nous réapprend l’histoire grecque, avec son riche héritage religieux et culturel.

Un voyage dans l’Antiquité grecque

Des hameaux à proximité de théâtres anciens sont présents dans toute la région. L’antique Thermo vous invite à admirer les galeries de l’agora des Étoliens et les rares frises peintes du temple d’Apollon Thermios. L’Acropole d’Œniadæ vous impressionnera par ses murs imposants et l’ancien théâtre qui donne sur l’Achéloos. Le plus grand théâtre de la région se tient majestueusement sur le site archéologique de Stratos. Le « château de Dame Irène », quant à lui, n’est autre que les remparts de l’ancienne Pleuron (Plevrona), qui comprennent un théâtre à l’architecture particulière avec une vue spectaculaire.

 

RELATED VIDEOS

Des musées qui vous marqueront

Les découvertes innombrables d’Étolie-Acarnanie, dont certaines remontent au Néolithique, sont exposées au musée archéologique d’Agrinio ; celui de Thyrreio à Vonitsa abrite pratiquement toute l’histoire des Acarnaniens. Les trois sièges des années 1820 et leurs protagonistes reviennent à la vie au Musée d’Histoire et d’Art de Missolonghi, tandis qu’à Aitoliko, le musée Vaso Katraki est le seul d’Europe qui soit exclusivement dédié à la gravure.

Un héritage religieux unique

La longue tradition religieuse de la terre de la Découverte est inscrite dans la pierre des monastères historiques dédiés à la Sainte Mère de Dieu. Tous ont quelque chose pour attirer votre attention et susciter votre admiration: le monastère de Panagia Ampelakiotissa est le fier possesseur de plusieurs reliques sacrées; le monastère de Vlochos attire de nombreux fidèles avec son iconostase impressionnante; au monastère de Katerinou, vous pourrez vous détendre à l’ombre d’un robuste platane et, au monastère de Panagia Panaxiotissa à Gavrolimni, vous serez impressionnés par l’architecture en croix de l’église. Et bien sûr, en tant que terre natale de Saint Cosme d’Étolie, la terre de la Découverte honore ce héraut du christianisme et de l’hellénisme au monastère qui porte son nom, à Mega Dendro.

Des forteresses connues et moins connues

La forteresse de Naupacte et le port vénitien sont peut-être connus de tous ; pourtant, il existe de nombreuses autres fortifications bien conservées et aussi fascinantes. Parmi elles, la forteresse d’Antirion et le fort d’Aktio (Actium), construits sur la mer, ainsi que la forteresse majestueuse de Vonitsa, qui orne sa propre petite colline verdoyante avec une vue sur le golfe d’Amvrakikos. Les murs et le moulin de Missolonghi sont deux autres monuments d’une grande valeur historique qu’il vaut la peine de visiter, parfaites reconstitutions des bâtiments originaux qui furent détruits durant la révolution.

Redécouvrez la culture et l’héritage religieux grecs. Admirez les symboles de l’histoire et les gardiens de la foi à la terre de la Découverte.

Are you a local?

Give us your best tips and help people discover Τhe Vivid Land of Achaia

Have you visited Τhe Vivid Land of Achaia?

Share the experiences that inspired you

#aitoloakarnania

hashtags

#WESTERN_GREECE

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter

Pour un peu d'inspiration, inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter et ne ratez jamais rien de la collection de la Grèce-Occidentale!

TOP

Login or Register

Log in Register

Added to your Lovelist

Living History | Land of discovery | Western Greece

Living History

An enlightening leap into the past

Land of discovery
HIGH0o
LOW0o

A land where exploration never ends, from antiquity to modern Greece.

Archaeological sites in incomparable locations, historic walls and seafront castles, picturesque monasteries and museums of vast cultural importance: Aitoloakarnania teaches us Greek history once again with its rich religious and cultural heritage.

A trip to Ancient Greece

Hamlets with ancient theatres are dotted throughout the whole area. Ancient Thermo awaits you to admire the galleries of the Agora of the Aetolians and the rare painted friezes of the temple of Thermios Apollo. The Oiniades Acropolis will stun you with its impressive walls and the ancient theatre that overlooks the River Acheloos. The largest theatre in the area stands majestically in ancient Stratos while the so called “Castle of Kyra Irini” are the walls of Ancient Plevrona, built into which is a theatre of notable design looking out across a spectacular vista.

 

RELATED VIDEOS

Museums make their mark

Innumerable artefacts of Aitoloakarnania, some from as early as the Neolithic Age, are housed in the Archaeological Museum of Agrinio and the Archaeological Museum of Thyreio in Vonitsa, which practically preserves the entire history of the Akarnanians. The three sieges of the 1820s and their protagonists come to life in the Museum of History & Art of Messolonghi, while in Aitoliko, the Vaso Katraki Museum is the only one in Europe exclusively devoted to carving.

Unique religious heritage

The long religious tradition of the land of Discovery is engrained in the stone of the historic monasteries dedicated to the Holy Mother of God. They all have something to draw you in and enhance your fascination:  The Holy Monastery of Panagia Ampelakiotissa is the proud keeper of several sacred relics; the Monastery of Vlohos attracts many of the faithful with its impressive screen; at the Monastery of Katerinou you can relax in the shade of a sturdy plane tree and at the Monastery of Panagia Panaxiotissa in Gavrolimni be impressed by its cross-shaped temple. And, of course, as the motherland of St Cosmas Aetolos, the land of Discovery honours the herald of Christianity and Hellenism with the Holy Monastery by the same name in Mega Dendro.

Holding strong

The Castle of Nafpaktos and the Venetian harbor may be familiar to everybody. However, there are many other well preserved fortifications which are equally inspiring. They include the castle of Antirio and the fort of Aktio, built on the sea; the majestic castle of Vonitsa gracing its own little verdant hill with a view to the Amvrakikos Gulf. The Wall and Windmill of Messolonghi are two more monuments of historical value well worth a visit, since they are perfect reconstructions of the original buildings which were destroyed during the revolution of 1821.

Rediscover Greek culture and Christian Orthodox religious heritage. Cherish the rousing symbols of history and guardians of the faith in the land of Discovery.

Are you a local?

Give us your best tips and help people discover Τhe Vivid Land of Achaia

Have you visited Τhe Vivid Land of Achaia?

Share the experiences that inspired you

#aitoloakarnania

hashtags

#WESTERN_GREECE

User Photo 1565430078580809043
User Photo 1565431816307247338
User Photo 1565389643696155633
User Photo 1564557225958334239
User Photo 1557935036690849006
User Photo 1555969826479289488
User Photo 1555567042023027769
User Photo 1554751309302030146
User Photo 1553095078863264684
User Photo 1552189576964133262
User Photo 1551703420824489293
User Photo 1551706558725955798
User Photo 1550906490456520913
User Photo 1550920765544577941
User Photo 1550909382798205424
User Photo 1546575047823467278
User Photo 1546618753194611700
User Photo 1548057900190485703
User Photo 1548635642103437330
Load more

Sign up for our newsletter

For some inspiration, subscribe to our newsetter and never miss a thing about the Western Greece Collection!

TOP

Login or Register

Log in Register

Added to your Lovelist