La flamme olympique | La terre de l’Olympie | Western Greece

La flamme olympique

Un voyage culturel dans le temps

La terre de l’Olympie
HIGH0o
LOW0o

Les anciens sentiers, les sites historiques, les châteaux franques, les chapelles et les monastères sont les témoins du passé.

L’antiquité l’a dotée d’un don inestimable ; la lumière sacrée de l’Ancienne terre d’ Olympie. Les siècles ont dispersé leur patrimoine historique et religieux dans chaque coin de la terre bénie de la Grèce-Occidentale. Ses sites satisferont votre soif spirituelle et vous emmèneront sur un chemin éclairé par la lueur des anciens idéaux de l’Olympe.

Expériences culturelles

Au musée d’Histoire des fouilles d’Olympie vous apprendrez la longue histoire des fouilles, tandis que le musée d’Histoire des Jeux Olympiques initie le visiteur d’apprendre le fond des jeux dans l’antiquité.

Directement lié aux Jeux Olympiques, l’Ancienne Élis (Archaia Ilida) a également sa propre part dans leur histoire glorieuse. C’est là que les Jeux ont été organisés pour la première fois en 776 av. J.-C. Le site archéologique et le nouveau musée Archéologique d’Élis exposent des œuvres représentatives de sa longue histoire.

Aujourd’hui la vie intellectuelle de la région est toujours active grâce au Festival International de l’Ancienne Olympie, au Festival International du Film de l’Olympie et au Festival International de l’ancienne Élis.

 Le Musée de la Technologie Grecque Antique et des Instruments de Musique à Katakolo, avec des répliques des inventions des anciens Grecs, ainsi que le nouveau Musée Archéologique de Pyrgos enrichiront votre connaissance de l’antiquité.

RELATED VIDEOS

Si vous ressentez le besoin de voyager dans la période franque, le château de Hlemoutsi à Kyllini est l’endroit idéal. Ses cours, ses tours, ses salles voûtées et son musée avec ses pièces éveilleront les fantasmes des chevaliers en armure brillante qui pavanaient autour des remparts.

Pèlerinages

Un pèlerinage aux lieux saints de l’Élide évoque toujours des émotions fortes et des sentiments de vénération. Le saint monastère de Panagia Skafidiotissa impressionne avec sa forteresse médiévale qui l’entoure. À Gastouni, à l’église de l’Assomption (Kimissis tis Theotokou), dans un monastère qui porte le même nom,  vous pourrez admirer l’icône byzantine de la Vierge Marie qui est toujours la source de consolation et d’espoir des fidèles.

Au village de Lygia se trouve le monastère de Panagia Eleoussa.  Buvez de l’eau de la grotte voisine. Elle est considérée comme de l’eau bénite. Le saint monastère de Kremasti semble défier la gravité. Aux saints monastères Frangopidimatos, Vlachernas et Fragavillas vous passerez des heures de sérénité et de méditation.

Ressentez votre bien-être intérieur et spirituel offert par la terre d’Olympie.

Are you a local?

Give us your best tips and help people discover Τhe Vivid Land of Achaia

Have you visited Τhe Vivid Land of Achaia?

Share the experiences that inspired you

#olympia

hashtags

#WESTERN_GREECE

User Photo 1565946429658556681
User Photo 1564766029777866995
User Photo 1565077579945213500
User Photo 1563731364874927608
User Photo 1563747461925848274
User Photo 1558281158702020829
User Photo 1557801923197115714
User Photo 1556688485757225684
User Photo 1556523939168338455
User Photo 1553539470731543720
User Photo 1552811328091753253
Load more

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter

Pour un peu d'inspiration, inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter et ne ratez jamais rien de la collection de la Grèce-Occidentale!

TOP

Login or Register

Log in Register

Added to your Lovelist

Olympian light | Land of Olympia | Western Greece

Olympian light

A cultural journey in time

Land of Olympia
HIGH0o
LOW0o

Ancient trails, historic monuments, Frankish castles, chapels and monasteries bear witness to the past.

Antiquity endowed it with a priceless gift, the sacred life of Ancient Olympia. The passing centuries have imbued every corner of Ilia with a rich historic and religious heritage. The sights in this part of Western Greece will take you to a higher spiritual plain, your pathway lit by the shining ideals of the ancient Olympics.

Cultural experiences

In the Museum of the History of Excavations in Olympia you will be able to connect the findings with the many digs that have taken place there over the years, while the museum of the History of the Olympic Games initiates the visitor into the essence of the games just as they were conducted in antiquity.

Interwoven with the events of the Olympic Games, ancient Ilida also shares in the glory of this institution. It was here that the Games were first organized in 776 BC. The archaeological site and the new Archaeological museum of Elida offer you an enlightening journey into its long history.

Today the intellectual life of the area is enhanced by the International Festival of Ancient Olympia, the International Film Festival of Olympia and the International Festival of Ancient Ilida.

The Museum of Ancient Greek Technology and Musical Instruments in Katakolo with the models of the inventions of the ancient Greeks and the new Archaeological Museum of Pyrgos further enrich your knowledge of the antiquity.

RELATED VIDEOS

Travelling a little further forward in time, Chlemoutsi castle in Kyllini still exudes the atmosphere from the period of the Frankish occupation. Courtyards, towers, domed halls and the Castle museum with its exhibits will stir fantasies of the knights in shining armour that used to strut around the ramparts.

Holy pilgrimages

A tour of the holy pilgrimages of Ilia always evokes strong emotions and feelings of reverence. The Holy Monastery of Panagia Skafidiotissa surrounded by its medieval fortress cannot fail to impress. In Gastouni, in the Holy Temple Kimisis tis Theotokou, with a monastery that goes by the same name, admire the Byzantine icon of the Virgin Mary that has stood for years as a source of comfort  and hope for the devout. In the village of Lygia lies the Monastery of Panagia Eleousa, where it is considered a blessing to drink water from the neighbouring cave.

In the Holy Monasteries of Fragopidima, Vlaherna and Fragavilla time becomes an irrelevance as you could literally spend hours happily lost in tranquil reflection. Finally, the Holy Monastery of Kremastis appears to defy gravity itself. Clinging precariously to the rock face, it is a symbol of the lengths, and heights, that the people here are able to go to in order to express their faith.

Feel the esoteric and spiritual fulfillment the land of Olympia has to offer!

Are you a local?

Give us your best tips and help people discover Τhe Vivid Land of Achaia

Have you visited Τhe Vivid Land of Achaia?

Share the experiences that inspired you

#olympia

hashtags

#WESTERN_GREECE

User Photo 1565946429658556681
User Photo 1564766029777866995
User Photo 1565077579945213500
User Photo 1563731364874927608
User Photo 1563747461925848274
User Photo 1558281158702020829
User Photo 1557801923197115714
User Photo 1556688485757225684
User Photo 1556523939168338455
User Photo 1553539470731543720
User Photo 1552811328091753253
Load more

Sign up for our newsletter

For some inspiration, subscribe to our newsetter and never miss a thing about the Western Greece Collection!

TOP

Login or Register

Log in Register

Added to your Lovelist