La terre vivide d’Achaïe

Patras

Adoptez un rythme festif

HIGH0o
LOW0o

Une ville pleine de passion et de caractère, que vous ne manquerez pas d’adorer!

Comment une ville peut-elle être tout le temps en mouvement? En tout cas, Patras le peut, et vous sentirez son énergie en la visitant! C’est une ville universitaire typique, avec des places pleines de vie, de nombreuses options pour se divertir, des activités culturelles variées et bien sûr, l’organisation du plus grand carnaval méditerranéen qui existe. Lorsque ce cocktail est combiné avec l’histoire, la culture et la beauté naturelle de la région, on obtient la destination par excellence pour une escapade inoubliable.

Un voyage dans l’espace, mais aussi dans le temps

Commencez votre visite des sites historiques par le château médiéval, où des spectacles ont lieu en été. Allez voir également le parc archéologique mycénien de Voudenis. Les découvertes en sont exposées au musée archéologique de la ville, qui vous donnera une image plus globale de son histoire.

À Patras, vous pourrez voyager dans le temps, en vous arrêtant pour voir les monuments issus de nombreux chapitres de l’histoire. Visitez l’Odéon romain, qui accueille le festival international de Patras, et le hammam, qui sert fidèlement ses clients depuis 1400. L’une des plus belles réalisations architecturales de Patras est probablement le théâtre municipal « Apollon ». Conçu en 1830 par E. Ziller, il est une réplique à moindre échelle de La Scala de Milan.

Où prendre du bon temps?

Quelle que soit votre humeur en arrivant à Patras, la vie nocturne de la ville aura vite fait de vous entraîner dans son rythme. Dans la rue Agiou Nikolaou, les voix des jeunes se mêlent agréablement à la musique des bars, et dans la rue Rodinou, l’un des quartiers les plus animés de la ville, tout le monde se retrouve pour former un grand groupe d’amis joyeux. Profitez d’un verre ou d’un repas avec la vue enchanteresse sur les escaliers de la rue Gerokostopoulou.

RELATED VIDEOS

Venez découvrir l’âme de Patras

Venez au carnaval de Patras pour découvrir le vrai sens du plaisir et de la fête. N’attendez rien de moins qu’un spectacle grandiose, avec des chants et des danses, auquel vous vous mêlerez jusqu’à ce que vous ne teniez plus debout! La routine quotidienne? Qu’est-ce que c’est? Ici, dans la foule joyeuse, vous aurez l’occasion de vous sentir libre et de tout oublier, le temps d’un week-end. Les habitants passent toute l’année à préparer avec enthousiasme ce grand événement au cours duquel, revêtus de leurs plus beaux déguisements, ils participent à la chasse au trésor et se joignent au défilé de chars avec tous les autres participants. Ils se disent au revoir au moment le plus fort de l’événement, le « rûlage du Roi du Carnaval», un feu de joie qui embrase le plus grand char.

ACHAIA CLAUSS

En partant, visitez cette ancienne entreprise viticole, qui est aussi une curiosité touristique. Promenez-vous parmi les superbes bâtiments et goûtez le Mavrodaphne, le Moscato et la tentura. Vous garderez le souvenir de leur saveur sucrée et parfumée lors de votre retour.

Quelques villes de Grèce sont faites pour vous divertir, et Patras en fait partie. Offrez-vous ce plaisir!

Events

5/6/2019 - 11/9/2019

Patras International Festival

Top institution and a pillar of the cultural life of the city, Patras International Festival has a glorious 27 years history and heritage, remaining one of the top summer cultural events with an international reach in the country.

Learn more SHARE
Summer 2019 - -

Kitesurf and Windsurf festival at Drepano

Drepano is one of the most popular waterboard sports destinations in Greece.

Learn more SHARE
All year round -

Patras Festival – Ancient Greek Drama

A festival institution with an emphasis on Theatre and Ancient Greek Drama which invites visitors to enjoy evenings full of culture, under the Patras sky.

Learn more SHARE

My Western Greece

Partagez votre expérience

#patra

Voyez comment d'autres personnes ont été inspirées et partagez votre expérience sur la Grèce-Occidentale

hashtags

#WESTERN_GREECE

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter

Pour un peu d'inspiration, inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter et ne ratez jamais rien de la collection de la Grèce-Occidentale!

TOP

Login or Register

Log in Register

Added to your Lovelist

Patra | Destinations, Τhe Vivid Land of Achaia | Western Greece
Vivid Land of Achaia

Patra

Moving to a festive rhythm

HIGH0o
LOW0o

Verve and personality you cannot help but adore.

Can a city be always on the move? Well, Patra can. You can almost feel the energy beneath your feet!  It is the archetypal university city, with squares teeming with life, numerous entertainment options, various cultural activities, and, of course, the organizer of one of the biggest Mediterranean carnivals in existence.  When all this is combined with history, culture and the natural beauty of the area, then you have the ultimate destination that fulfills every wish for a pleasant getaway.

It travels in time as well

Start your tour around the historic sites from the Medieval Castle, where performances are held in the summer, and the Voudeni Mycenaean Park. The findings from the excavation are exhibited in the Archaeological Museum of the city, from which you will gain a more comprehensive picture of its history.

You can travel in time here stopping off at monuments from many chapters of history. Visit the Roman Odeon, home to Patra International Festival, and the Hamam which has given unbroken service to its customers since 1400 AD. Perhaps the most impressive of Patra’s architectural adornments is the Apollon Municipal Theatre.  Built in 1830 by E. Ziller, it is a scaled down replica of La Scala opera house in Milan.

Good time know-how

Whatever mood you are in when you get here, the nightlife of Patra will soon have you stepping to its beat. On Agiou Nikolaou St the youthful voices blend sweetly with the music from the bars, while on Rodinou St, one of the best known hot spots of the city, everyone joins in to become one big group of happy friends. Combine a drink or dinner with an enchanting view from the steps of Gerokostopoulou. 

RELATED VIDEOS

«Come and find out what it’s like to be a native of Patra»

Come to the carnival of Patra to find the true meaning of fun and revelry. Expect nothing less than a full-on extravaganza of partying, singing and dancing till you drop. Everyday routine? What’s that? Here, as part of this great swirling throng of people, is your chance to   feel free and really let go for a weekend. The locals spend the whole year in enthusiastic preparation for this grand event, in which they don fancy dress, participate in the treasure hunt and join the procession of floats with all the other carnival-goers.

They will bid each other farewell at the highlight of the event, the «Burning of the Carnival King», which is a great bonfire to set alight the biggest float.

ACHAIA CLAUSS

As you are leaving, pay a visit to the historic winery which is also a tourist sight. Wander around the beautiful buildings and try Mavrodafni, Moscato and Tendura. Their sweet, aromatic flavor will stay with you on your journey home.

Patra: The master of ceremonies. Treat yourself to a fresh take on fun!

My Western Greece

Share your experience

#patra

See how other people got inspired and share your experiences in Western Greece

hashtags

#WESTERN_GREECE

User Photo 1557458282737931906
User Photo 1557460506616174334
User Photo 1556725300574189509
User Photo 1555977900095566758
User Photo 1555732066502870487
User Photo 1554519340108011437
User Photo 1554529294071353116
User Photo 1553060340170035215
User Photo 1553062291385406019
User Photo 1553065991532213969
User Photo 1552316347344627157
User Photo 1550112277989213218
User Photo 1550112672111161948
User Photo 1550113733489327059
User Photo 1549389467087846373
User Photo 1549390891532375909
User Photo 1548627743155217007
User Photo 1548646274998274240
User Photo 1548648643028178029
User Photo 1548587487634664623
Load more

Sign up for our newsletter

For some inspiration, subscribe to our newsetter and never miss a thing about the Western Greece Collection!

TOP

Login or Register

Log in Register

Added to your Lovelist